Business: Hook’s Drugs
Date of Ad: July 29, 1906
Location: Various Locations, Originally Prospect and East (demolished)
Years of Operation: 1900-1994
Notable: A drugstore that became a household name across Indiana had humble roots. Started by a German immigrant named John A. Hook, his first pharmacy opened at 1101 South East Street not far from Fountain Square. Another early location stood at 318 East Washington Street. In 1950, the company opened their fiftieth store at the corner of Meridian and 38th Streets. By the mid-1980s, the Hoosier company dominated the pharmacy industry in Indianapolis and countless small towns in the area. A victim of a hostile takeover, the company was acquired by the Kroger company, but maintained their iconic green and white logo. That changed after being purchased by Revco in 1994. Three short years later Revco was purchased by CVS.
Additionally: In 1966 attendees to the Indiana State Fair were treated to a new exhibit in the former Better Babies building. A turn-of-the-century Hook’s drugstore was recreated with counters, artifacts and a re-created Victorian-era soda fountain. The exhibit, originally intended to be temporary, proved so successful that it remained open daily for over thirty years! Sadly, the museum closed after an attempt to move downtown in the Wholesale District fell through. The partially restored building eventually became Kilroy’s bar serving up elixirs of a different sort. All is not lost; the exhibit still opens every year for the Indiana State Fair.