Two hundred and twenty-three years ago, on March 1, 1790, Congress passed the First Census Act. They gave the responsibility of collecting information to the marshalls of the U.S. judicial districts, who beginning on Census Day, August 2, 1790, recorded the names of the heads of household in the thirteen states as well as the districts and territories that would eventually become Vermont, Kentucky, Tennessee, and Maine.